Narrative is the official journal of the International Society for the Study of Narrative. Narrative’s broad range of scholarship includes the English, American, and European novel, nonfiction narrative, film, and narrative as used in performance art.

Narrative won the 1993 award for Best New Journal given by the Council of Editors of Learned Journals. Serials first appearing between 1991 and 1993 were eligible for this award.

A subscription to the journal is included with membership in the Society. Click here to find out more about how to Join the Society. All membership and journal subscription questions should be directed to the Journals Manager ( at the OSU Press.

Issue Archive

Online access to articles are also now available through Project Muse (2002-present). Issues prior to 2002 will be available shortly through JSTOR. Please check with your library to see if you can access the journal online.

For the table of contents of recent issues of the journal, including the most current one, please visit Project Muse’s Narrative web site:

Editorial Board:

James Phelan, Editor
Department of English
The Ohio State University
164 West 17th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210-1370, USA

Associate Editors:

Barbara Perkins, University of Toledo

George Perkins, Eastern Michigan University

Frederick Luis Aldama, The Ohio State University

Michael Awkward, University of Pennsylvania

Janice Carlisle, Tulane University

Robert Caserio, Temple University

Ross Chambers, University of Michigan

Jay Clayton, Vanderbilt University

Dorrit Cohn, Harvard University<

Mark Conroy, Ohio State University

Susan Stanford Friedman, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison

Dorothy J. Hale, University of California, Berkeley

David Herman, North Carolina State University

Margaret Homans, Yale University

Audrey Jaffe, Ohio State University

Elizabeth Langland, University of Florida

Brian McHale, The Ohio State University

Nellie McKay, University of Florida

Alan Nadel, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Gerald Prince, University of Pennsylvania

Peter J. Rabinowitz, Hamilton College

John Richetti, University of Pennsylvania

David G. Riede, Ohio State University

Shlomith Rimmon-Kenan, Hebrew University

Daniel Schwarz, Cornell University

Robyn Warhol, University of Vermont